Minutes for Deacons Meeting, November 4, 2018 LOVE....SERVE....BUILD

Deacon Sign in and Fellowship: 6:15-6:30

Call Meeting to order: 6:30 – Steve Kirby

Opening Prayer – Dr. Head

Welcome & Opening Remarks - Steve Kirby

- October Minutes Approval Minutes were approved as distributed.
- Other Announcements Jeff Jennings encouraged 100% deacon participation for the Beyond Our Walls event on February 9. This year there will be an online process to register.

Music Minister Search Update – Rita Loadholt – Using Jeremiah 33:3 as their guide, the Music Minister Search Committee has narrowed the candidate pool from the original 42 to one. This final candidate has undergone several interviews, and the committee feels he is the right fit for our church. Please pray for him, his family, and a smooth transition.

Prayer Team Update- Susanne Ivey – The Prayer Team has dubbed this the Year of Expansion. They continue to pray for church members in need, and they have expanded their reach to the entire congregation. Prayer cards were distributed to the congregation in the spring, summer, and fall.

Special Projects Team Update – Duane Thacker – The Special Projects Team has been very busy. Ten projects have been completed this year, both large and small. The largest project was a wooden pavilion built at the Drake House that will be used as an outdoor classroom. Other projects included home repairs for widows, the elderly, and single moms.

Comments from Dr. Head – Please remember to pray for Logan Carpenter and his family. He will begin his service as our Minister of Spiritual Development on November 18. Dr. Ron Bradley will be preaching next Sunday, 11/11, as Dr. Head will be out of town. Continue to pray for the music minister search committee, and many thanks to all the volunteers and interims that have stepped up during this transition time. Lastly, Dr. Head thanked Steve Kirby for serving as chair of the deacons this year.

Attendance Awards- Penny Kilpatrick – Deacons with perfect attendance for 2018 were awarded a certificate. They were: N. D. Brumbeloe, Saundra Brumbeloe, Elwyn Gaissert, Norma Hawkins, Suzanne Ivey, Jeff Jennings, Elsie Kittrell, Gene Mikell, Judy Paulk, and Edwina Taylor.

2019 Deacon Officer Elections- Nathan Jones – The new deacon officers for 2019 are: Marc Walley, Chair; Arnold Eaves, Vice-Chair; Michael Gilbert, Secretary.

Prayer Requests and Closing Prayer- Marc Walley

Service Team Breakouts- all are dismissed once individual teams have completed discussions

Minister Updates will be provided at the meeting.